Curlew Cottage - Dittisham

Higher Street, Dittisham,, Dittisham, England, TQ6 0HX, United Kingdom

price from £470 per week

  • Reference ID:
    Curlew Cottage
  • Type:
    House
  • Bedrooms:
    2
  • Bathrooms:
    2
  • Adults:
    4
  • Dog friendly:
    Yes
  • Wi-Fi:
    Yes
Property description

Curlew Cottage is a picturesque holiday cottage with a stunning view of the River Dart and the surrounding countryside from the garden in this delightful waterside village of Dittisham. Perfectly equipped for four guests to enjoy a relaxing holiday. The cottage is situated on Higher Street and enjoys lovely river views from the conservatory, garden and and double bedroom. There is a short walk to all the village amenities and the river including the ferries to Dartmouth and Greenway as well as the locally renound Anchorstone Cafe.

 

Accommodation: The front door opens in onto a small entrance porch, cosy lounge with a brick fireplace and open fire (first basket of logs Oct to end of Apr), sofa and two armchairs and TV with DVD.  Steps down into the very well equipped kitchen diner, with tiled floor, oven, hob and extractor, integrated fridge/freezer, microwave, dining table and chairs.  A door from the kitchen opens into the conservatory with dining table and chairs, views over the garden and river.  The conservatory also houses the washing machine/tumble dryer.

 

Upstairs: A narrow twisting stair case leads up from the sitting room to two bedrooms and a bathroom.  The double bedroom is at the back of the cottage with fantastic views of the river and features an iron bedstead and en suite shower.  There is a small dressing room adjoining the bedroom.  The second bedroom is at the front of the cottage and has twin iron beds and a feature fireplace.  The family bathroom has a bath with shower over, toilet and basin.  At the bottom of the stairs is a small cloakroom with toilet and basin.

 

Outside: The garden at the rear features flower beds, lawn and lovely views of the river Dart. A paved area with garden furniture allows you to make the most of this picturesque setting. There is no private parking at the cottage but you can park outside to unload and there are a few spaces just along the road or round the corner on Riverside Road.

£100.00 refundable security deposit will be requested, held against damage/extra cleaning.

 

Please Note: As of January 2018 Curlew Cottage will become an Friday Changeover

Property features

Bed Linen and Towels Provided

Electric Heating

Garden

No Smoking Inside

Open fire (first basket of logs winter only)

Saturday Changeover

Two well behaved dogs welcome

WiFi

Availability
  September 2017  
M T W T F S S
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23
£535 per week
24
25 26 27 28 29 30
£535 per week
 
  October 2017  
M T W T F S S
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7
£535 per week
8
9 10 11 12 13 14
£535 per week
15
16 17 18 19 20 21
£620 per week
22
23 24 25 26 27 28
£470 per week
29
30 31          
Make a reservation
              CAPTCHA

                Booking terms

                CONDITIONS OF HIRE

                1. Contract – The Contract of Hire shall be between the Hirer [You] and the Property Owner and subject to these conditions of hire. Dart Valley Cottages Limited act only as agent for the Property Owner.
                2. Payment and Booking – A provisional booking can be accepted by telephone and must be confirmed within 7 days by receipt of a booking form and the required deposit plus a booking fee of £15. Provisional reservations will be cancelled after 7 days without further reference or notice. All parts of the booking form must be completed including all guests names. No more than the number of persons shown in the brochure and included on the booking form may occupy a property. For bookings made more than 6 weeks before your holiday a deposit of one third of the holiday price plus the booking fee of £15 shall be paid. The balance of the payment must be paid 6 weeks prior to your holiday. For bookings made less than 6 weeks before your holiday the total amount of the holiday price and a booking fee of £15 is required upon confirmation of your booking. Please note credit card payment incur a fee of 2%.
                3. Privacy Policy – We do not store credit card details nor do we share customer details with any third parties.
                4. Period of Hire – Your holiday cottage will be ready for You after 3pm (occasionally later) on the arrival day and You must leave by 10am on the departure day. Changeover day is Friday or Saturday as shown in the brochure (unless otherwise indicated), although a different day may be arranged out of season.
                5. Care of the Property – The cottage must be left in a clean and tidy condition by 10am on departure day, and all breakages and/or damage reported to the Property Owner and paid for at the time. Where security bonds are held by Dart Valley Cottages Limited, they will be returned to You as soon as possible, after the property has been checked at the end of your stay. Any extra cleaning charges and costs of repairs or replacements shall be deducted from this deposit. The number of persons staying at the cottage must not exceed the number stated on your booking form. The Property Owner reserves the right to revoke or refuse occupation prior to or during your holiday where the maximum number is exceeded or where the Property Owner considers the party unsuitable.
                6. Pets – Dogs are allowed in some properties, a maximum of two dogs, some will only accept one so please check prior to booking, there is an extra charge of £25 per week. They are permitted on the strict understanding that they are kept off the furniture, are not allowed upstairs or in bedrooms, and are never left alone in the property. They must be exercised daily away from the property and garden. Hirers will be liable for any damage caused by pets. Please note, dogs are not allowed on some beaches during particulars parts of the year. Dog owners are recommended to check access arrangements prior to booking.
                7. Right of Entry – The Property Owner or his representative shall be allowed the right of entry at all reasonable times for inspection, repair or maintenance purposes save for in the case of an emergency.
                8. Holiday cancellation and curtailment Insurance – Applicable to all bookings – Your booking is a legally binding contract, and like all contracts you should protect yourself in case things go wrong. Once the deposit is paid you will be liable for the whole rental. It is therefore recommended that any booking to be protected by holiday cancellation and curtailment insurance. It is a condition of your booking that you make arrangements to insure against the possible cancellation of your holiday as all cancellations for whatever reason are chargeable. You must make your own arrangements for your insurance. If you do not indicate on your booking form that you have insurance we will send you an application form which may provide the appropriate cover, however, this statement does not constitute a recommendation or advice that you should purchase that particular policy. Dart Valley Cottages Limited are not authorised and regulated by the Financial Services Authority and Dart Valley Cottages Limited are not therefore permitted to make any recommendations or provide you with advice about any particular insurance product.
                9. Cancellation – In the event that You wish to cancel the arrangements prior to the commencement of the holiday the balance will still be due. Upon notifying Dart Valley Cottages Limited in writing, Dart Valley Cottages Limited shall endeavour to re-let the property for the period concerned or for such part thereof as may prove possible. If such re-letting can be arranged, the balance, if already paid, will be refunded less a charge for any additional expenses, but the deposit and booking fee are non-refundable and should be dealt with by your own cancellation insurance provider.
                10. Availability – this Contract is made on the understanding that the property and its facilities as published will be available for the dates stated. In the unlikely event that a property is not available through events arising out of the control of Dart Valley Cottages Limited or the Property Owner, then Dart Valley Cottages Limited or the Property Owner reserves the right to cancel the booking. You will be advised of any such circumstances as early as possible, and will (where feasible) be offered alternative accommodation of a similar standard, type, location and price. If this is not possible, or if the alternative offered is unacceptable to You, then Dart Valley Cottages Limited will refund all monies paid to date in full but You will have no further claim or action against Dart Valley Cottages Limited or the Property Owner
                11. Linen – Bed linen and/or towels (excluding beach towels) are supplied for some cottages, for others you are required to bring your own. Bed linen is not provided for ‘Z’ beds or cots.
                12. Complaints – All properties have been inspected by Dart Valley Cottages, but Dart Valley Cottages cannot accept responsibility for any changes made by the Property Owner since the inspection, or failure by the Property Owner to keep the property up to standard. In the unlikely event of any complaint You should immediately contact the Property Owner or housekeeper who will attempt to resolve the problem for you. It has to be stressed that Dart Valley Cottages cannot consider complaints reported after you have returned home from your holiday or when You have denied Dart Valley Cottages or the Property Owners the opportunity of investigating the complaint and endeavouring to put matters right during the holiday.
                13. Brochure – Dart Valley Cottages take every care to ensure the accuracy of property descriptions. All information is given in good faith and believed correct at the time of going to press, but Dart Valley Cottages cannot be held responsible for any errors, or the results of such errors. Further, Dart Valley Cottages cannot accept liability for happenings outside its reasonable control, such as breakdown of domestic appliances, plumbing, wiring, sudden temporary invasion of pests, damage resulting from exceptional weather conditions, war, strikes, industrial disputes, sickness, changes imposed by re-scheduling of airline, train operators or ferry operators or Property Owner’s negligence resulting in loss, injury or accident.
                14. Liability – Dart Valley Cottages Limited liability shall not exceed the amount actually paid as rental by You for the property rented. It is an express condition of this Contract that neither the Property Owner nor Dart Valley Cottages Limited shall be held responsible for any accident, loss or damage which may be sustained by You or any, member of your party, or visitor, or their property, however caused.
                15. Disclaimer: Use of the property is at your own risk. You must take extra care, especially the supervision of children, in properties where there are steep gardens and steps, swimming pools and ponds, balconies and terraced areas. You are responsible to ensure the property suits your own needs, if you have any special requirements please advise Dart Valley Cottages before booking.
                16. Price Changes – Dart Valley Cottages reserve the right to amend prices quoted in the brochure or website, due to errors and/or omissions.
                17. Short breaks – Most cottages offer short breaks during the period November – Easter excluding Christmas. They can sometimes be booked at other times but usually only at short notice during May, June, July, August, September and October.
                18. Left and unclaimed property – Please note if you wish to have any items returned to You, accidentally left at the property, there is a minimum handling charge of £10.00 but the Property Owner reserves the right to dispose of any such property if not claimed within 5 days of your departure.
                19. Country stone cottages – Some of traditional cottages are over 100 years old. Although they are inspected very carefully, it is natural and understandable that these properties may occasionally be prone to humidity effects.
                20. Fuel – Gas, electric and oil is included in the rental price. For properties with open fires/wood burners the provision of logs is detailed in the individual property descriptions in the brochure.
                21. Noise and Nuisance – Neither the Agents nor the Property Owner can accept responsibility for any noise or nuisance, including building work, outside the boundary of the property, over which they have no control.
                22. Smoking – All properties are non-smoking and smoking shall be prohibited at all times.
                Map
                Reviews

                "Thanks to Eldine for the recommendation. We had a much needed relaxing week in Curlew Cottage. Most of all enjoyed relaxing with the most beautiful views. Thanks" - Peter and James - May 2017

                 

                "We've had a wonderful time in a well equipped and cosy cottage. Wonderful view! We hope to be back next year" - Mandy, Mark, Desna and Alison - 4-11 March 2017

                 

                "Cosy cottage. Beautiful views from the garden. This being our ninth visit to Dittisham so no surprises but always a wonderful base" - Linda and Kevin plus Holly Dog - 27 December 2016 - 2 January 2017

                 

                "My second stay in Curlew Cottage - we all love the cottage.  I came to Dittisham every year on holiday when I was little and it brings back so many lovely memories. Curlew Cottage is beautiful - so home from home - we love it here and we will be back" - The Allans - 5-8 November 2016

                 

                "A beautiful cottage - we felt right at home - will return" - The Lynthams - 22-29 October

                 

                "Our second stay in the wonderful 'home from home' cottage. We've had an amazing week - so much to see and do locally" - The Birtles - 1-10 October 2016

                 

                "We have had a really happy week in this cosy and comfortable cottage. - Thank you!" Rosalind, William, George and Savana (the Dog) - 24 September - 1 October 2016

                 

                “Had a lovely week here in your cosy cottage.  A joy to not need to use the car. The views are fabulous and luckily the weather has been good enough to enjoy sitting in the tranquil garden. Hope to come again.  Thank you.” – Sue, Rosemary and Max (the dog) – 17-24 September 2016

                 

                “We have read the previous reviews and can only endorse what has been written. A well kept cottage in a glorious position. Hope to come again. Thank you for the doggy treats” – Jackie and Colin and Fern and Holly the dogs – 3-10 September 2016

                 

                “Had a lovely week in a very comfortable cosy cottage. So well equipped with everything you should need. We enjoyed full sun in the pretty garden with a beautiful view” – Carly, Glen, Freya and Evie and Emmy (the dog) – July 2016

                 

                “Fantastic location with amazing views and such a lovely and quiet week away from city life! We hope to return. Thanks” – Maggie, Mark and Freddie – July 2016

                 

                “A simply delightful cottage with beautiful views and a great location. The Cottage is furnished and fitted to a high standard which all makes for a very comfortable stay. The peace and quiet was perfect. We’ve thoroughly enjoyed our week at Curlew Cottage” – Anne, Eleanor and Imogen – 2-9 July 2016

                 

                "This was our first stay in Curlew Cottage. What a beautiful place with the most wonderful view. Because the weather was so good we made full use of the garden" - Jo, Ian, Will and Flo - 28 May 2016

                 

                "Another lovely week in this cottage with the most glorious view" - Brett and Patricia and Rory, James and Caroline - 21 May 2016

                 

                "Beautiful cottage - we loved it and the weather was lovely. Have been staying in Dittisham since I was a child and this is one of the loveliest cottages I have stayed in. Buddy my chocolate Labrador was very happy with the treats. Thank you for a lovely long weekend" - Barbara - 8 May 2016

                 

                "Wild garlic, primrose, bluebells, all in abundance along the hedgerows and stonewalls - such a beautiful time to visit here. We were very comfortable in Curlew Cottage with its glorious view to the river Dart - which was ever changing and fascinating. Impressed with the friendliness of the locals" - John and Airling, Mike and Sue - 23-30 April 2016

                 

                "The cottage was beautiful and immaculately presented, with fabulous views of the Dart" - Mark - 2-9 April 2016

                 

                "A wonderful cottage, with amazing views. Very well equipped and everything explained clearly. Thank you for the fresh flowers, milk and biscuits - a lovely start to our holiday" - Katherine, Nigel, Ella and Jack - March/April 2016

                 

                "This was a long awaited break after 2 years of illness - just what the doctor ordered! Beautiful, Serene, Magical. A stunning cottage in a fabulous place" - Carol and John - March 2016

                 

                "Lovely cottage, very well equipped, comfortable beds, good bed linen, plenty of towels, gorgeous views - all in all a perfect little cottage. We are well impressed with your company and brochure - we will use your company again!" - Sharon - 13-20 February 2016

                 

                "Wow, what a gorgeous cottage, so well appointed and with wonderful views. We've had a lovely week and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Very many thanks" - Sue and Ken - 15-22 November 2015

                 

                "We were here on honeymoon in March this year and we loved it so much in Curlew and Dittisham that we booked to come again straightaway.  We have had another magical week in this special place - a real home from home. We are already planning another visit for next year with our newborn (March!) or perhaps a 'babymoon' in February if we dare. Thank you for creating such a beautiful place" - Emma and Ian - 24-31 October 2015

                 

                "A beautiful place to stay. Great location, very comfortable and well equipped. Lovely area to explore - would definitely recommend" - Graeme and Nicky - 3-10 October 2015

                 

                "Our second visit to Curlew Cottage, with probably the bet view in the whole of Devon! Curlew is a delightful cottage in a perfect setting! So glad the owners are happy to share it. Already decided that we will be back next year!!!" - Allen and Jackie & Holly the Lab - 26 September - 3 October 2015

                 

                "Beautiful cottage, so well appointed, so cosy and comfortable. Lovely sitting with stunning views. Have stayed in lots of other accommodation both home and abroad and Curlew Cottage is equipped to a very high standard in comparison. Definitely the best ever" - Liz and Ray - 19-26 September 2015

                 

                "What a well presented ad more than well equipped cottage.  Lovely and clean with great attention to detail - the little things make all the difference, like the tea tray and biscuits waiting on the kitchen table! What a bonus the conservatory is to enjoy the spectacular view - and appreciate the binoculars too - another nice touch. We have had a lovely week here - Thank you so much" - Ian and Beryl 12-19 September 2015

                 

                "Our first but not our last! We fell in love with Dittisham 5 years ago and have now found the best cottage. We will return next year to the jewel!  Thank you! xxx" - Dom, Julie, Lydia, Evie and Poppy and Bella the dogs - 29 August - 5 September 2015

                 

                "What more can we say about the view - fantastic! Delightfully furnished cottage, comfortable beds, great DVD collection!  Provided everything and more we required. Thank you for the use of your lovely cottage" - Andrea, Peter, Harley, Ann and Stan - 22-29 August 2015

                 

                "Many thanks for a wonderful stay in probably the best cottage. We've ever stayed in" - The Lawrie Family and Labrador - 8-22 August 2015

                 

                "We have enjoyed many holidays down in South Devon but this by far has been the best.  The Cottage is in such a beautiful spot. Our two spaniels have enjoyed all the walks and water as we have too. The views from the garden complete it all.. We will be back to Dittisham again. It was super. We had a lovely time. Thanks" - The Ashby's - 1-8 August 2015

                 

                "Another memorable stay in this fabulous cottage. We'll see you very soon! Many thanks" - Mandy, Kevin, Charlie, Alfie and Sid the dog - 4-25 July 2015

                 

                "We have stayed in many cottages in different parts of the UK. This in our view is the best place we have ever stayed in. The combination of the view, ambience, facilities, equipment, décor, furnishings and attention to detail (the torches on the bedside tables), made our stay a great experience. Many thanks" - John and Maggie 27 June - 4 July 2015

                 

                "Curlew Cottage is a highly recommended property with spectacular views and location.  A really lovely cottage and garden , amazing views and wonderful weather - what more could we want. We would love to come here again" - Sylvia and Stephen and Lisa and Merlin the dogs - 20-27 June 2015

                 

                "We have had a perfect week at your lovely cottage. Beautiful location. We have enjoyed ever minute and will miss the garden and views. The cottage has been tastefully furnished to a high spec and very comfortable. Thank you so much" - Patricia, Brett, John and Rory - the Westie - 13-20 June 2016

                 

                "What a beautiful cottage that is well looked after and loved - that was our first thought  when we come inside.  Surrounded by its own piece of heaven. What a place of peace. Who could ask for more. We will return" - Jan and Paul and Daisy the Boxer - 6-13 June 2015

                 

                "This is our second visit to this beautiful peaceful cottage and we loved everything about it" - Susan - 30 May - 6 June 2015

                 

                "We have had a lovely week here in Curlew sitting on the terrace looking at the Fab views. We would love to come again" - Carol, John and Joanne - 23-30 May 2015

                 

                "Have spent a wonderful week here.  Cottage delightful, so well equipped and clean! with exquisite views. Will definitely come again." - Anne, John and Ellie - 16-23 May 2015

                 

                "Just writing to let you know how much we enjoyed our week at Curlew Cottage. Think it is our 6th holiday in Dittisham with your company and this cottage was definitely the best so far. We're already looking at booking again before word gets about! The setting and the garden were just beautiful. Loved the way the owners had retained the quirkiness and charm of the old cottage with their own individual touches, interesting prints, details, books etc.  It is the sort of cottage where you knew you could find everything you wanted and excellent quality. So good to have a well equipped kitchen with all the odds and ends you forget to bring, even binoculars! Thanks to the owners on our behalf" - Sally & Bob - 18-25 April 2015

                 

                "Wonderful cottage, wonderful views and a wonderful break away from the busy city of Birmingham. We will miss the peace and quiet and of course the view. The biscuits where a lovely thought especially the ones for our dog. Thanks for letting us stay in your lovely cottage. We hope to be back someday soon" - Rachel, Ian, Charlotte, Emma and Tippy (the Dog) - April 2015

                 

                "Here on honeymoon! A wonderful stay in a beautiful cottage. We wished we had booked 2 weeks. Lovely interior here and we will be back!!! Thank you" Emma and Ian 28 March - 4 April 2015

                 

                "Wonderful stay and very well appointed cottage. Would recommend to others" - The Souter Family - 14-23 March 2015

                 

                "A beautiful cottage and glorious views. A splendidly equipped cottage - better than we've ever been in!! Thank you for everything" - Maureen and Bill - 7-13 March 2015

                 

                "We came in the murky depths of January for 4 nights to recover from a busy family Christmas. The Cottage is beautifully appointed and finished with care and love - and the views!! - we could just have sat all day and looked! Back soon!" - Cliff, Jane and Poppy the Bichon - January 2015

                 

                "Yet another fantastic week in this beautiful village. First time in Curlew - what a gorgeous little gem stunning views. We will be back soon" - Tracy and Paul - November 2014

                 

                "It's been a lovely few days in your pretty, comfortable cottage. Thank you" - Shirley and Stella - November 2014

                 

                "You've done a fantastic job with this cottage. So nice to have good radios! Lovely - thank you" Allie, Nick and Alex - Oct - November 2014

                 

                "We loved Curlew Cottage. It was in a delightful position. We hope to be able to book this cottage again next year at a similar time" - Allen and Jackie - 27 September - 4 October 2014

                 

                "This cottage and village is so delightful - such a peaceful and tranquil place with no traffic noise. Just birds singing. Thank you for all the lovely things you have provided to make our stay so comfortable. Bery well equipped. Am sure we will be back. The Garden was lovely and safe for the dogs." - Lisa, Gary and Nell and Darcy (the dogs) - 20 - 27 September 2014

                 

                "Beautiful cottage with outstanding views. We had a fantastic week in Dittisham, loved the village and the beautiful cottage. We booked last minute having seen the photos online - the view was so much better and what a delight the cottage was. Spent a few nights on the patio taking in the spectacular view! Décor tastefully done and everything we needed. What a pleasure. Thank you we will definitely be back!" - Susan and Graham - 6-13 September 2014

                 

                "Lovely location and cottage. We have enjoyed a very peaceful week and have appreciated all the care that has gone into making Curlew Cottage such a lovely home. We would love to stay longer next time!" - Tracey 30 August - 6 September 2014

                 

                "Curlew was lovely.  The view from the garden is amazing" - Ute - 14-21 June 2014

                 

                "What a find! What a view! What a shame I had to go. I will be back - thank you so much" - Cecil - May bank holiday 2014

                 

                "Very honoured to be the first guest and hope to be back gain very soon. The best view in Dittisham and cosiest cottage" - Fran - 18-21 April 2014

                Address
                Country:
                United Kingdom
                State:
                England
                City:
                Dittisham
                Address:
                Higher Street, Dittisham,
                Post code:
                TQ6 0HX